ARIA Awards Winners Are Grinners

The biggest night in Australian music was held with minimal disruption in Sydney last night.

Kirin Callinan, AKA ‘that Aussie muso whose song was deemed so bad it was bagged out by Jimmy Fallon in America’ rocked up to the ARIAs wearing a kilt and showed the photographers – including our own Jasmine – whether he was really Big Enough. 

ICYMI, here’s Fallon’s take on the track – which includes our hero Jimmy Barnes as well:

Speaking of Jimmy, he took out the award for Best Children’s Album, of all things, for his album Och Aye The G’Nu! Is there anything he can’t do?

Later on, he also introduced Daryl Braithwaite for his induction into the ARIA Hall of Fame. Braithwaite then hit the stage with Guy Sebastian and Vera Blue for a rendition of his hit song Horses, proving his nearly 70-year self can still belt out and hold some ridiculous notes.

Sebastian had earlier admitted it was the first time he’d really sung the track sober. Either the who’s who of Australian music was in the same boat, or they were hitting the vinos, because everyone was on their feet singing along.

It’s refreshing watching the ARIAs over, say, the EMAs or AMAs. Not only do most of our acts sing live instead of lip synching – and yes, Lorde sang live instead of just doing the weird interpretive dance of the EMAs this year – but the reaction of our artists to winning awards and giving speeches is so damn Aussie.

Illy, upon completing his acceptance speech for Best Australian Live Act (read from his phone) finished with, “Now I’m off to get drunk!” whilst Apple Music Song of The Year winners Peking Duk started their speech with, “Well shit ay!”

No thanking God here, people. No sir.

Here’s the entire list of winners (and nominees) from the 2017 Aria Awards:

Best Pop Release
Amy Shark – ‘Night Thinker’
Dean Lewis – ‘Waves’
Jessica Mauboy – ‘Fallin”
Sia – ‘The Greatest’
Vera Blue – ‘Perennial’

Best Group
A.B. Original – ‘Reclaim Australia’
Gang Of Youths – ‘Go Farther In Lightness’
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – ‘Flying Microtonal Banana’
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – ‘Skeleton Tree’
Peking Duk feat. Elliphant – ‘Stranger’

Best Adult Contemporary Album
Bernard Fanning – ‘Brutal Dawn’
D.D. Dumbo – ‘Utopia Defeated’
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – ‘Skeleton Tree’
Paul Kelly – ‘Life Is Fine’
Pete Murray – ‘Kamacho’

Best International Artist
Adele – ’25’
Bruno Mars – ’24K Magic’
Ed Sheeran – ‘Loose Change’
Harry Styles – ‘Harry Styles’
Kendrick Lamar – ‘Damn. And Untitled Unmastered.’
Lorde – ‘Melodrama’
Metallica – ‘HardWired… To Self-Destruct’
Shawn Mendes – ‘Illuminate’
The Rolling Stones – ‘Blue & Lonesome’
The Weeknd – ‘Starboy’

Best Children’s Album
Jimmy Barnes – ‘Och Aye The G’Nu!’
Lah-Lah – ‘Having Fun!’
Peter Combe – ‘Living It Up’
The Idea Of North, Lior & Elena Kats-Chernin – ‘A Piece Of Quiet [The Hush Collection, Vol. 16]’
The Wiggles – ‘The Wiggles Duets’

Best Female Artist
Amy Shark – ‘Night Thinker’
Jessica Mauboy – ‘The Secret Daughter’ (Songs from the original TV series)
Julia Jacklin – ‘Kids Win’
Meg Mac – ‘Low Blows’
Sia – ‘The Greatest’

Best Independent Release
A.B. Original – ‘Reclaim Australia’
Dan Sultan ‘ Killer’
Sia – ‘The Greatest’
Tash Sultana – ‘Notion’
Vance Joy – ‘Lay It On Me’

Best Male Artist
D.D. Dumbo – ‘Utopia Defeated’
Dan Sultan – ‘Killer’
Illy – ‘Two Degrees’
Paul Kelly – ‘Life Is Fine’
Vance Joy – ‘Lay It On Me’

Best Australian Live Act
Client Liaison – ‘Diplomatic Immunity Tour’
Flume – ‘Flume: Australian Tour 2017’
Gang Of Youths – ‘Gang Of Youths’
Illy – ‘The Two Degrees Tour’
Jessica Mayboy – ‘All The Hits Live Tour’
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – ‘Gizzfest’
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – ‘Australia & New Zealand Tour 2017’
Peking Duk – ‘Clowntown Tour’
Tash Sultana – ‘Tash Sultana Aus/NZ 2017’
Violent Soho – ‘Violent Soho With Special Guests The Bronx’

Breakthrough Artist
A.B. Original – ‘Reclaim Australia’
Amy Shark – ‘Night Thinker’
Dean Lewis – ‘Waves’
Tash Sultana – ‘Notion’
Tkay Maidza – ‘Tkay’

Apple Music Album Of The Year
A.B. Original – ‘Reclaim Australia’
Amy Shark – ‘Night Thinker’
Gang Of Youths – ‘Go Farther In Lightness’
Illy – ‘Two Degrees’
Paul Kelly – ‘Life Is Fine’

Apple Music Song Of The Year
Amy Shark – ‘Adore’
Bliss n Esso feat. Gavin James – ‘Moments’
Dean Lewis – ‘Waves’
Guy Sebastian – ‘Set In Stone’
Illy feat. Anne-Marie – ‘Catch 22’
Jessica Mauboy – ‘Fallin”
Peking Duk feat. Elliphant – Stranger’
Pnau – ‘Chameleon’
Sia feat. Kendrick Lamar – ‘The Greatest’
Starley – ‘Call On Me’ (Ryan RIback Remix)

Best Blues and Roots Album
All Our Exes Live In Texas – ‘When We Fall’
Archie Roach – ‘Let Love Rule’
Busby Marou – ‘Postcards From The Shell House’
Paul Kelly & Charlie Owen – ‘Death’s Dateless Night’
Tash Sultana – ‘Notion’

Best Comedy Release
John Clarke – ‘Clarke’s Classics’
Arj Barker – ‘Get In My Head’
Buddy Goode – ‘More Rubbish’
Kitty Flanagan – ‘Seriously?’
Rhys Nicholson – ‘Rhys Nicholson Live At The Eternity Playhouse’

Best Country Album
Kasey Chambers – ‘Dragonfly’
Lee Kernaghan – ‘The 25th Anniversary Album’
O’Shea – ’61-615′
Shane Nicholson – ‘Love And Blood’
The McClymonts – ‘Endless’

Best Dance Release
Dom Dolla & Torren Foot – ‘Be Randy’
Jagwar Ma – ‘Every Now & Then’
Peking Duk feat. Elliphant – ‘Stranger’
Pnau – ‘Chameleon’
The Kite String Tangle – ‘The Kite String Tangle’

Best Hard Rock / Heavy Metal Album
Airbourne – ‘Breakin’ Outta Hell’
Frenzal Rhomb – ‘Hi-Vis High Tea’
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – ‘Murder Of The Universe’
Northlane – ‘Mesmer’
SleepMakesWaves – ‘Made Of Breath Only’

Best Rock Album
Dan Sultan – ‘Killer’
Dune Rats – ‘The Kids Will Know It’s Bullshit’
Gang Of Youths – ‘Go Farther In Lightness’
Polish Club – ‘Alright Already’
The Preatures – ‘Girlhood’

Best Urban Release
A.B. Original – ‘Reclaim Australia’
Illy – ‘Two Degrees’
Remi – ‘Divas & Demons’
Thundamentals – ‘Everyone We Know’
Tkay Maidza – ‘Tkay’

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s