Triple j’s J Awards 2019 nominees announced

words: Brittany Long

Entering into their 15th year of the J Awards, Triple J have today announced the nominees for 2019 across their five award categories. The award announcements are part of events commemorating Ausmusic Month with the awards set to showcase a snapshot of Australia’s very own homegrown music excellence.

A judging panel comprised of the music teams and presenters across respective channels triple j, triple j Unearthed and Double J are responsible for choosing nominees based on four main criteria; their originality, creativity, technical excellence and overall contribution to Australian music.

The awards are this year spread across five categories: Australian Album of the Year, Unearthed Artist of the Year, Double J Artist of the Year, Australian Music Video of the Year and the You Done Good Award. The You Done Good Award is a brand new addition to this years categories, with the award seeking to recognise people who have made a notable contribution to Australia’s music industry, but who aren’t necessarily musicians themselves.

The nominations see the return of some previous award winner alumni royalty including Australian Album of the year 2013 winner Flume and Triple j Unearthed Artist of 2017 winner Stella Donnelly. For another consecutive year Sampa The Great is again nominated for both Double J Artist and Australian Music Video of the Year. While G-Flip‘s 2018 nomination for Unearthed artist sees her nominated for Australian Album of the Year with About You.

The Hilltop Hoods also receive their fifth nomination spanning over the 15-year history of the awards.

Photo: Hilltop Hoods at Groovin’ The Moo 2019 by Brittany Long

This years deserving nominees are as follows:

Triple j Australian Album of the Year

Photo: Holy Holy at Groovin’ The Moo 2019 by Brittany Long
  • G Flip – About You
  • Hatchie – Keepsake
  • Hayden James – Between Us
  • Hilltop Hoods – The Great Expanse
  • Holy Holy – My Own Pool Of Light
  • Matt Corby – Rainbow Valley
  • Northlane – Alien
  • Sampa The Great – The Return
  • Stella Donnelly – Beware Of The Dogs
  • Thelma Plum – Better In Blak

Unearthed Artist of the Year

  • Adrian Eagle
  • The Chats
  • George Alice
  • Spacey Jane
  • Tones And I

Double J Artist of the Year

  • Nick Cave
  • Julia Jacklin
  • King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard
  • Sampa The Great
  • The Teskey Brothers

Triple j and Rage Australian Music Video of the Year

  • Briggs {feat. Greg Holden} – ‘Life Is Incredible’ [Directed by Dylan River]
  • Flume – ‘Hi This Is Flume (Mixtape)’ [Directed by Jonathan Zawada]
  • The Chats – ‘Identity Theft’ [Directed by Matt Weston]
  • Thelma Plum – ‘Better In Blak’ [Directed by Claudia Sangiorgi Dalimore]
  • Sampa The Great – ‘Final Form’ [Directed by Sanjay De Silva]

You Done Good Award

  • Dylan Alcott
  • Heidi Lenffer
  • NIMA’s
  • Harry the Poo Roadie
  • Sarah Aarons

You can learn more about each of the nominees here.

Stay tuned on November 21st where the winners will be revealed at a special J Awards ceremony which will be broadcast live on air.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s