The Captain’s 20th Anniversary Tour

Country music darling and all-round legend Kasey Chambers announced a 20th Anniversary tour for her groundbreaking album The Captain this week.

In celebration of the album, Chambers will reform her original band and take them around the country through September and October, playing the album in full as well as a ‘best of’ set.

The Captain saw Chambers pick up her first solo ARIA Awards, for Best Country Album and Best Female Artist, the album would go double-platinum in Australia, reach the Top 50 of the US Billboard Country albums and enabled Kasey to launch her music to the world.

Music fans at the 2019 Byron Bay Blues Fest were treated to a preview of The Captain 20th Anniversary show, the festival which gave Chambers a huge platform for her music when she started 20 years ago was a fitting place to kick off the anniversary show celebrations.

Supporting Chambers for The Captain 20th Anniversary shows is singer songwriter Charlie Collins. Having played in various bands both in Australia and overseas, Collins has shared the stage with Gang of Youths, Death Cab for Cutie and Jack River in the last year, as well as performing at Laneway, Fairgrounds and Tamworth Country Music Festivals. Chambers and Collins met in Tamworth early in The Captain days making her support on this tour particularly special. Collins explains further:

“When I was 10, Bill Chambers got me up on his show. I sung Kasey’s ‘This Flower’. Kasey joined me on stage that night and that feeling I got I will never forget. My idol, my hero, my inspiration. To be asked to join this tour is a dream come true. The Captain was one of the first records I bought and it changed my life.”

KASEY CHAMBERS – THE CAPTAIN 20TH ANNIVERSARY TOUR 2019

General sale begins 10:00 AM today
Full ticket details: www.kaseychambers.com

Friday 13 September – The Palms at Crown, Melbourne VIC
Saturday 14 September – Costa Hall GPAC, Geelong VIC
Sunday 15 September – Wangaratta Performing Arts Centre, Wangaratta VIC
Thursday 19 September – Lismore City Hall, Lismore NSW
Friday 20 September – The Fortitude Valley Music Hall, Brisbane QLD
Saturday 21 September – Southport RSL, Southport QLD
Friday 4 October – Thebarton Theatre, Adelaide SA
Saturday 5 October – The Astor Theatre, Perth WA
Sunday 6 October – Bridgetown Hotel, Bridgetown WA
Friday 11 October – Town Hall Theatre PAC, Devonport Tas
Saturday 12 October – Theatre North at the Princess, Launceston Tas
Sunday 13 October – West Point Entertainment Centre, Hobart Tas
Thursday 17 October – Anita’s Theatre, Thirroul NSW
Friday 18 October – Evan Theatre Panthers, Penrith NSW
Saturday 19 October – The Cube, Campbelltown NSW
Sunday 20 October – Bathurst Memorial Theatre, Bathurst NSW
Friday 25 October – Giant Dwarf, Redfern NSW
Saturday 26 October – NEX, Newcastle NSW
Sunday 27 October – The Playhouse Theatre CIC, Canberra ACT

To commemorate The Captain’s 20th anniversary “The Captain Deluxe Edition” will be available from May 17 (via EMI) – exactly 20 years to the day since the ground-breaking debut album was originally release and the original album will be available on vinyl for the first time! Fans can pre-order now from the link HERE

Advertisements