news

Midnight Oil Announces Tour

_embargo-9-45am-syd-au-17-02-17_4-meg-midnight-oil-road-_credit-oliver-eclipse

Legendary Aussie rockers Midnight Oil announced a massive world tour today – their first in over 20 years – as well as plans to release three archival box sets.

The tour will see the group’s original lineup circumnavigate the globe over six months, starting and ending with shows in Sydney. The tour will begin much like the band did, in an intimate pub gig yet to be announced. They will take in 30 locations around the world during the northern hemisphere’s summer, from Sao Paulo to Los Angeles, London and Paris.

The homecoming shows will conclude the tour, with 18 shows across Australia, running clockwise around the country from Alice Springs, to Cairns, and right across all states and territories before finally settling back in Sydney.

The diverse spread of special guests who have signed up to be part of this unique tour reflect the long shadow that Midnight Oil has cast across the musical landscape. They include significant Australian voices such as John Butler Trio, AB Original, Adalita, Apakatjah, Bad//Dreems, Birds Of Tokyo, David Bridie, Ash Grunwald, Irrunytju BandJack River, Jedediah, The Jezebels, The Living End, Abbe May, Something For Kate, Spiderbait, Dan Sultan, Urthboy, and Frank Yamma.

In a unique press conference on Sydney Harbour today this most Australian of bands also announced the impending release of a remastered CD box set called The Full Tank featuring all of their existing albums and EP’s plus a mammoth new 4 CD/8 DVD trove called The Overflow Tank which will include over 14 hours of previously unreleased and rare material. Both of these box sets will be housed in replica miniature water tanks like the one featured onstage at so many ‘Oils’ gigs. The band also unveiled their first ever complete Vinyl collection which will feature 11 remastered LP’s and two 12” EP’s all cut at Abbey Rd Studios in London. For full boxset track listings and content information visit www.midnightoil.com/store. The Boxset Collection is available for pre-order now, out May 5 through Sony Music.

Australian Tour Dates:
#Oils2017
Presented by Frontier Touring, Triple M and MAX
In Association With Sony Music Entertainment

FRONTIER MEMBERS PRE-SALE via frontiertouring.com/midnightoil
Begins: Thu 23 Feb | Ends: Fri 24 Feb

(or ends earlier if pre-sale allocation exhausted)
Pre-sale times are staggered per show, visit the website for more details

MIDNIGHT OIL PRE-SALE via midnightoil.com
Begins: Thu 23 Feb | Ends: Fri 24 Feb
(or ends earlier if pre-sale allocation exhausted)
Pre-sale times are staggered per show, visit the website for more details

GENERAL PUBLIC ON SALE
Begins: Mon 27 Feb – see start times below

Mon 2 Oct | ANZAC Oval, Alice Springs, NT (18+*)
With Dan Sultan & Apakatjah
ticketek.com.au | Ph: 132 849
On sale: Mon 27 Feb (12:30pm local time)

Wed 4 Oct | Darwin Amphitheatre, Darwin, NT (18+*)
With Dan Sultan & Irrunytju Band
ticketek.com.au | Ph: 132 849
On sale: Mon 27 Feb (12:30pm local time)
Presented locally by Mix 104.9

Sat 7 Oct  | Kuranda Amphitheatre, Cairns, QLD (18+*)
With Urthboy
ticketek.com.au | Ph: 132 849
On sale: Mon 27 Feb (12noon local time)
Presented locally by Triple M

Tue 10 Oct | Townsville Entertainment Centre, Townsville, QLD (All Ages)
With Urthboy
tecc.net.au | Ph: (07) 4771 400
On sale: Mon 27 Feb (12noon local time)
Presented locally by 4TO

Thu 12 Oct | Great Western Hotel, Rockhampton, QLD (18+*)
With Urthboy
ticketek.com.au | Ph: 132 849
On sale: Mon 27 Feb (12noon local time)
Presented locally by Triple M

Sat 14 Oct | Big Pineapple Fields, Sunshine Coast, QLD (18+*)
With The Living End & Jebediah
ticketek.com.au | Ph: 132 849
On sale: Mon 27 Feb (12noon local time)
Presented locally by 92.7 Mix FM

Sun 15 Oct | Riverstage, Brisbane, QLD (All Ages)
With The Jezabels
ticketmaster.com.au | Ph: 136 100
On sale: Mon 27 Feb (1pm local time)
Presented locally by Triple M

Thu 19 Oct | Hockey Fields, Coffs Harbour (18+*)
With Jebediah & Jack River
ticketek.com.au | Ph: 132 849
On sale: Mon 27 Feb (12noon AEDT)
Presented locally by Triple M

Sat 21 Oct | Hope Estate, Hunter Valley, NSW (18+*)
With Birds of Tokyo & Ash Grunwald
ticketek.com.au | Ph: 132 849
On sale: Mon 27 Feb (12noon AEDT)
Presented locally by KOFM

Tue 24 Oct | AIS Arena, Canberra, ACT (All Ages)
With Something For Kate
ticketek.com.au | Ph: 132 849
On sale: Mon 27 Feb (12noon AEDT)
Presented locally by MIX 106.3

Thu 26 Oct | The Village Green Adelaide Oval, Adelaide, SA (All Ages)
With Spiderbait & Bad//Dreems
ticketek.com.au | Ph: 132 849
On sale: Mon 27 Feb (1.30pm local time)
Presented locally by Triple M

Sat 28 Oct | Perth Arena, Perth, WA (All Ages)
With Spiderbait
ticketek.com.au | Ph: 132 849
On sale: Mon 27 Feb (12noon local time)
Presented locally by Triple M

Wed 1 Nov | Derwent Entertainmnent Centre, Hobart, TAS (All Ages)
With The Jezabels
ticketmaster.com.au | Ph: 136 100
On sale: Mon 27 Feb (3pm AEDT)
Presented locally by Triple M

Fri 3 Nov | Gateway Lakes, Wodonga, VIC (18+*)
With The Living End
ticketmaster.com.au | Ph: 136 100
On sale: Mon 27 Feb (3pm AEDT)
Presented locally by Triple M

Sat 4 Nov | Hanging Rock, Mt Macedon, VIC (18+*)
With John Butler Trio, Something for Kate, Frank Yamma & David Bridie
ticketmaster.com.au | Ph: 136 100
On sale: Mon 27 Feb (2pm AEDT)
Presented locally by Triple M

Mon 6 Nov | Sidney Myer Music Bowl, Melbourne, VIC (All Ages)
With The Jezabels & Adalita
ticketmaster.com.au | Ph: 136 100
On sale: Mon 27 Feb (4pm AEDT)
Presented locally by Triple M

Wed 8 Nov | Win Entertainment Centre, Wollongong, NSW (All Ages)
With Abbe May
ticketmaster.com.au | Ph: 136 100
On sale: Mon 27 Feb (2pm AEDT)
Presented locally by WAVE FM

Sat 11 Nov | The Domain, Sydney, NSW (18+*)
With John Butler Trio & A.B.Original
ticketek.com.au | Ph: 132 849
On sale: Mon 27 Feb (11am AEDT)
Presented locally by Triple M

* U18s must be accompanied by parent/legal guardian

INTERNATIONAL TOUR DATES: 
Full details at www.midnightoil.com/tour-dates/

SOUTH AMERICA

Tue 25 Apr         Pepsi on Stage | Porto Alegre
Thu 27 Apr         Live | Curtiba
Sat 29 Apr         Espaço das Americas | São Paolo
Sun 30 Apr        Vivo Rio | Rio De Janeiro
Tue 2 May         NET Live | Brasilia

NORTH AMERICA

Sat 6 May         Center Stage | Atlanta, GA
Tue 9 May         The Filmore | Silver Spring, MD
Thu 11 May        House of Blues | Boston, MA
Sat 13 May        Webster Hall | New York City, NY
Tue 16 May        Keswick Theatre | Glenside, PA
Thu 18 May       The Vic | Chicago, IL
Sat 20 May        Danforth Theatre | Toronto, Canada
Tue 23 May        Paramount Theatre | Denver, CO
Thu 25 May       The Wiltern | Los Angeles, CA
Sat 27 May        Fox Theatre | Oakland, CA
Mon 29 May       Revolution Hall | Portland, OR
Wed 31 May       Moore Theatre | Seattle, WA
Fri 2 June          The Commodore | Vancouver, Canada

EUROPE + UK

Wed 21 June      E-Werk | Cologne, Germany
Fri 23 June         Paradiso | Amsterdam, Holland
Sun 25 June       Huxleys Neue Welt | Berlin, Germany
Tue 27 June       Amager Bio | Copenhagen, Denmark
Thu 29 June       Rockafeller Music Hall | Oslo, Norway
Sat 1 July          Furuviksparken | Gävle, Sweden
Tue 4 July          Hammersmith Apollo | London, UK
Thu 6 July         Olympia | Paris, France
Fri 7 July           Festival de Beauregard | Hérouville-Saint-Claire, France
Sun 9 July         Les Deferlantes Festival | Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Wed 12 July       Volkshaus | Zurich, Switzerland
Fri 14 July         Musilac | Aix Les Bains, France
Sun 16 July       Les Vieilles Charrues | Carhaix, France
Tue 18 July        Batschkapp | Frankfurt, Germany
Fri 21 July         Colours of Ostrava | Ostrava, Czech Republic

NEW ZEALAND

Sat 9 Sep          Vector Arena | Auckland, NZ
Mon 11 Sep       Horncastle Arena | Christchurch, NZ

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s